Dickens’s A Christmas Carol at 170

A fascinating post about Dickens’ book “A Christmas Carol” from Interesting Literature. Puts me in the festive spirit, no Bah Humbug from me

Interesting Literature

A short summary of Dickens’s A Christmas Carol and some fascinating trivia about the book

Charles Dickens’s classic Christmas tale A Christmas Carol was published over 170 years ago, in 1843. Since then, there have been countless stage, screen, and radio adaptations of the classic story. The first film adaptation was a short silent movie version in 1901, titled Scrooge; or, Marley’s Ghost. There have been opera and ballet versions, an all-black musical called Comin’ Uptown (1979), and even a 1973 mime adaptation for the BBC starring Marcel Marceau. The Muppets, Mickey Mouse, and Mr Magoo have all featured in adaptations of the book.

It wasn’t the first Christmas story Dickens wrote. It wasn’t even the first Christmas ghost story Dickens wrote. He’d already written ‘The Story of the Goblins Who Stole a Sexton’, featuring miserly Gabriel Grub, an inset tale in Dickens’s first ever published novel, The…

View original post 726 more words

About ellen waldrenhttps://ellenwaldrenblog.wordpress.comI am a calligraphy and lettering artist and have been developing my skills for many years. I live in Kent on the Romney Marsh with my family and my naughty dog, Francesca, I am often at my drawing board creating new designs. I love trying out new techniques to constantly push the boundaries of my work. I have tried all kinds of surfaces, and have written on furniture, fabric, tiles and even walls! Nothing is safe. I am currently applying my lettering to bone china in order to create unique pieces. I have started with William Shakespeare and am using his words to adorn the mugs, plates and bowls.

Leave a Reply

